After our brief visit to France, we were now so excited about the house and moving one day that we decided to accelerate the move timeline and instead of waiting a few years to take early retirement, we decided to move in July of this year. Now, I know this sounds all very sudden and rash and unplanned but it just felt so very right. I am a firm believer that you should always follow your gut instinct. 99% of the time, it is right. And, I think, no, I know that this was the right decision for us. I think the moment hit us on the flight back to Los Angeles actually and no sooner had we landed, than we both emailed our respective bosses and informed them of our news. The choice of July was based on the fact that I work at a school and I wanted to finish the school year. This would give us 3 months to finalize everything, get all our medical checkups done, (what is the use of paying all that insurance money if you do not use some of it), say goodbye to friends etc. We were so excited, I cannot begin to tell you. I was bubbling over when I got to work on Monday and told everyone who cared to listen to me, and even a few who did not really, that I was moving to my dream home in Dordogne. Everyone wanted to see pictures and so I sent links to the video http://youtu.be/K4g3DJmVbC0 and sent pictures. Soon it went viral at work. Everyone was commenting on my new home, employees, parents, students. I have had several enquiries about cooking lessons already. That will most probably start in October but I will be sure to keep you all updated and you will be the first to know. I cannot wait.

In case you are wondering why there is only one recipe in the recipe section, do not fear, that is just a temporary issue. Soon, there will be many. The blog idea sprang out of our decision to move in July and I could not wait to get it started but the real blog will be ready to go once we are settled in France and can host our own blog. I will be posting recipes regularly as well as more anecdotes about our life.

