Tags

, , , ,

IMG_5960Another superb even if you might think unusual combination at first. I must admit that when I first heard of combining white fish with a strong blue cheese, the idea seemed a bit strange but I had to try it and, boy, am I glad that I did. I made this last night for dinner and it had Stuart and I both trying to get the final scrap of sauce to add to our fish. You simply must give this a try. You can use any medium to firm white fish, cod, halibut, sea bass. For the blue cheese, I used a Bleu de Brebis, a delicious sheep’s milk, very creamy blue cheese, but you can use a Bleu d’Auvergne, Roquefort, Bleu de Bresse or Fourme d’Ambert. Do not use a Gorgonzola as it tends to be too salty.

Serves 2

Ingredients:

400 g / 14 oz cod fillet, skin removed
2 Tablespoons flour
2 Tablespoons bread crumbs
10 to 12 walnuts
1 egg, beaten
60g / 2 oz Bleu de Brebis
Freshly ground black pepper
100 ml /1/2 cup heavy cream
30 g / 2 Tablespoons butter

Preparation:

De-shell the walnuts and grind in a food processor
Mix ground nuts with bread crumbs
Prepare 3 dishes, one with the egg, one with the flour and one with the crumb mixture
Dust the fish with the flour
Dip the fish into the egg
Press it into the bread crumb and nut mixture
Melt the butter in a sauté Pan
Cook the fish about 4 minutes each side until golden brown
Add pepper
While the fish is cooking, heat the cream slightly
Add the blue cheese cut into small cubes
Mix well until all incorporated
Place fish fillet on a plate and pour the sauce liberally over
Serve with rice
Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

