Tags

, , , , , ,

IMG_4748

IMG_4746IIMG_4747

I have made thousands of chocolate chip cookies in my life. Ok, not quite thousands but it feels like it. When my daughter, now 22, was at school there was always a need for cookies. I would suggest elegant macaroons, eclairs, galets breton, madeleines, but you see, she did her elementary schooling in Los Angeles at the Lycee Français and all the children (mostly French) wanted good, old fashioned American style chocolate chip cookies – none of that fancy French stuff. Kids! So, I began my quest in trying to find the ultimate chocolate chip cookie. I tried dozens and dozens of recipes but they were always too dry, too crisp, too soft, too big, too small until I came across a version of this one that I am sharing with you today. It was finally able to tick all the boxes, big (but not too big), fat, chewy and utterly scrumptious – in my mind the perfect cookie. I hope you agree.

Makes 18

Ingredients:

2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup sweet butter, melted (be careful to just melt, not cook the butter)
1 cup soft, brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
1 egg plus 1 yolk
2 cups dark chocolate chips (I used a combination of white and dark)

Preparation:

Preheat the oven to 160 C / 325 F
Line the baking trays with parchment paper
Sift together the flour, baking soda and salt, set aside
In a medium bowl, cream the butter and both sugars
Add the vanilla essence
Add the egg and the yolk and mix until light and creamy
Add the dry ingredients and mix well
Stir in the chocolate chips
Using an ice cream scoop, drop the dough onto the baking trays leaving about 6cm /2 inches between each
Bake for about 15 to 17 minutes
Cool on the baking sheets for 5 minutes
Place on a wire rack to cool
Enjoy!

 

