Tags

, , , , ,

IMG_6628

This was a recipe that was born out of trying to use leftovers. We were about to leave on vacation and I was desperately trying to empty the fridge and all the possible perishables. I was doing rather well and did not have much left over when I went to take stock. I had potatoes, garlic, cream, cheese, mascarpone and a few other odds and ends. I could make a gratin with the potatoes and cream, but what would I use the mascarpone for? Tiramisu? That would mean opening a packet of boudoir biscuits and then as I would not use them all, I would have to eat them before leaving – a definite possibility but I really could not afford to put on weight before going away. So, the question still remained, what would I do with the mascarpone – eat it by the spoon with some vanilla sugar and chocolate shavings – tempting… Then I decided to make an extra creamy, smooth, velvety, mashed potato dish. I had a few sun dried tomatoes in my pantry; why not add a few in for a bit of texture and colour?Β  And so my recipe for today’s post was born. Incredibly easy too and it is absolutely delicious and decadent. It makes a change from regular mashed potatoes or potato gratin. Do try it, you will not be disappointed – I guarantee it.

Serves 6

Ingredients:

1 kg / 2 pounds potatoes
6 to 8 sun dried tomatoes in oil
250 g / 9 oz mascarpone
100 ml / 3 oz heavy, liquid cream
80 g / 3 oz parmesan, grated
1 garlic clove, crushed (optional)
1/2 teaspoon dried basil
Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Preparation:

Preheat the oven to 200 C / 400 F
Cook the potatoes, unpeeled, in boiling water for 25 minutes
Peel and mash coarsely
Cut the sun dried tomatoes into small pieces and add to the mashed potatoes
Add crushed garlic and basil
Whip the mascarpone with the cream and half the parmesan
Add salt and pepper to taste and mix all the ingredients
Ladle the potatoes into your gratin dish
Sprinkle the remaining parmesan on the top
Bake, uncovered for about 20 to 25 minutes until golden brown
Serve immediately
Enjoy!
IMG_6629

Doesn’t that look good?

